Collectors Annual Awards Dinner

Saturday 22nd June, the Auto Collectors Club of Murray Bridge (ACCMB) members gathered together for dinner and 2018/2019 awards Presentation evening.
As members gathered in a warm and cozy Murray Bridge Bowling Club (MBBC), the cold weather outside made for an almost stay at home by the fire evening, but 50 ACCMB members braved the cold, for this most important yearly meeting.
With members gathering and finding their seats, while enjoying a drink and chat, ACCMB Publicity Officer received a phone call from one couple asking, “What time is this dinner, no members are present yet”, you guessed it, the “well known couple” were at the wrong venue. Wow, not bad for a coach driver and his bride.
With all members now accounted for and seated including the latecomer’s, President Claude Minge welcomed all members, outlining the evening’s proceedings including one member who had received a leg massage so that she could attend. Well done to that member, that’s dedication at the highest degree.
MBBC ladies who had been busily preparing the evening meal, came out of the kitchen with no fuss, and served the main meal to perfection, while the noise of members chatting dramatically quietened, and all you could hear was the sounds of knives and forks.
Then it was the President and Secretary, Life Member Brenda Cowie’s job to firstly present the “keeper trophies” from 2017/2018, before the presentation of the Perpetual Trophy winners for 2018/2019.

Valvoline Trophy – Most points scored for attending meetings and runs. Winner. Jan Hall.

Patron’s Run — Winner of competition set by the Patron. Winners – Suzannah Lambert & Peta Buck

President’s Trophy — Member chosen by President for Continuing Club service. Winner – Life Member Lyn West for 15 years of producing the club “Auto Torque” magazine.

Sausage Sizzle Run. – Winner of quiz set by the run organizer. Winners – Elaine and Roy Bretag.

Ladies Day Run. – Winner of quiz set by the run organizer. Winners – Elizabeth and Claude Minge.

Economy run. – Member on run who determines correct amount of fuel used by a nominated vehicle on the run. Winners – Peter & Aileen Geue

Most Improved Vehicle – Progressive restoration viewed by judging panel during the year for a nominated vehicles. (1958 FC Holden Station Wagon) — Winners – Ricky and Neil Kaak.

Founders Trophy – Most interesting run during 2018/2019, decided by Club Run Coordinator. Winners – Elizabeth and Claude Minge.

Mal Fountain Run – Winner of Quiz set by the run organizer. Winner- Deirdre and Trevor Kitto.

At the conclusion of presentations, desert was served, followed by final thanks to the lady volunteers, headed by Sue Smart and Kay Simes, along with bar staff of the MBBC for a “scrumptious” meal and “superb” service.
Thanks was also given by President Claude to Secretary Brenda, for all her efforts in organizing of the trophies for the winners.
Applause in the usual fashion was shown by members of the ACCMB.
With the evening drawing to a close, members said their farewells and thank you’s, then headed out into the cool of the night before heading home.
Another very successful presentation dinner for members was had by all attending.

Photos by Graham Edwards, Roy Bretag & Ricky Kaak.

Members at Dinner
 L-R President Claude & Deirdre Kitto
 L-R President Claude & Ricky Kaak
L-R   Jan Hall, President Claude
L-R  Secretary Brenda Cowie, Lyn West & President Claude
L-R  Secretary Brenda Cowie, Roy Bretag & President Claude
L-R  Secretary Brenda Cowie, Liz and Claude Minge Claude
L-R  Secretary Brenda Cowie, Liz and Claude Minge Claude
 L-R  Peta Buck & Suzannah Lambert & President Claude
L-R  Peter Geue & President Claude
Members at Dinner